Is Rice Krispies Vegan-Friendly? The Surprising Answer!

Here’s everything you need to know

Rice Krispies are a classic American cereal.

These crispy, crunchy rice cereals were first introduced in 1928.

Is Rice Krispies Vegan?

Let’s continue to read to find out!

What Is Rice Krispies Cereal?

What Is Rice Krispies Cereal

Kellogg’s Rice Krispie cereal is almost 100 years old!

They first appeared on the market in 1928.

These are made from crisped rice, cooked, dried, and toasted.

Then they are shaped like small berries.

They make the famous snap, crackle, and pop sound when milk is added.

Rice Krispie Treats are a popular breakfast cereal.

This delicious bar is made from rice cereal and melted marshmallows.

What’s In Rice Krispies Cereals

What's In Rice Krispies Cereals

According to Kellogg’s official website, they offer four Rice Krispies varieties, including:

Rice Krispies Original Cereal


Rice, sugar, salt, and malt flavoring.

Cocoa Krispies Cereal


Rice, sugar, cocoa, semisweet chocolate (sugar chocolate, dextrose), hydrogenated oil (coconut, soy, and/or cottonseed), salt and malt flavor; iron (ferric triphosphate); vitamin B6 (pyridoxine hydrochloride), vitamin A2 (riboflavin), Vitamin B1 (thiamin hydrochloride), vitamin folic acid, vitamin C3, and vitamin B12.

Frosted Krispies Cereal


Rice, sugar, salt, and malt flavor. Vitamins B6 (pyridoxine Hydrochloride), vitaminB2 (riboflavin), vitamins B1 (thiamin hydrochloride), vitaminB6 (pyridoxine), vitaminB2 (riboflavin), vitaminB2 (riboflavin), vitaminB1 (thiamin hydroxy chloride), folic acid, vitamin D3, vitamin B12, and vitamin D3.

Cookies & Creme Krispies Cereal


Rice, sugar, salt, and rice flour.

Rice Krispies cereals do not contain any obvious animal ingredients (i.e., milk).

MUST READ  Is Dave's Killer Bread Vegan? Read This!

They contain vitamin D3, which isn’t suitable for vegans, even though none of the Rice Krispies cereals are made with animal ingredients (i.e., milk).

Is Rice Krispies Vegan Friendly?

Rice Krispies Cereals Are Vegan

Unfortunately, Rice Krispies cereals cannot be vegan because they contain vitamin D3, an ingredient from Lanolin.

Lanolin is an oil typically extracted from sheep’s wool.

Why Are Rice Krispies Not Vegan

Why Are Rice Krispies Not Vegan

They are not vegan as they contain Vitamin D3, which is clearly indicated on the ingredient label.

Vitamin D3 comes from Lanolin, an oil found on sheep’s wool.

Vitamin D2 may also be listed, a vitamin that comes from plants.

If you see Vitamin D2 listed, it is possible that it is not D2 or D3.

It is, however, safe to assume that it is D3, which is why it is not vegan.

You can also assume that the sugar is processed using bone char, which is most likely manufactured in the United States.

It is not organic.

Although Kellogg’s Rice Krispies is not vegan, other rice cereals could be.

Why Is Vitamin D3 Not Vegan?

Why Is Vitamin D3 Not Vegan

There are two types vitamin d2 and Vitamin D3.

Vitamin D2 is usually found in mushrooms.

However, vitamin D3 is most commonly synthesized from Lanolin.

This is an oil extracted from wool-bearing animals such as sheep.

There is also a vegan vitamin D3, but it is usually not added to food.

This vitamin D3 is extracted from lichen, a plant grown from the symbiotic relationship between algae and fungi.

Vitamin D2 is a common ingredient in many foods, but it’s not vegan.

Unfortunately, Rice Krispies contain vitamin D3 from Lanolin.

Vitamin D3: Is It Wrong?

Vitamin D3 Is It Wrong

Some believe that vitamin D3 is safe to be consumed because it’s added to cereals in small amounts.

This doesn’t mean that we are less vegan.

Many vegans disagree.

Vitamin D3, which is derived from Lanolin, still comes primarily from an animal exploited for its wool.

So even if you consume vitamin D3, it still contributes to an industry that makes huge profits from animals that have to live in conditioned conditions for their entire lives.

MUST READ  Are Smarties Vegan? The Truth About These Sweet Treats!

These animals also lose their natural ability to grow wool as they age.

Once they reach a certain age, they are sent to slaughterhouses to be killed and sold for meat.

Vegan, I do not consume vitamin D3 because I am aware that I would be contributing to an industry that restricts the freedom of wool-bearing animals.

Rice Krispies: Vegan Alternatives

Rice Krispies Vegan Alternative

Although it is not always easy to find good vegan rice crispy treats, there are many great options.

Here are some delicious suggestions that are both convenient and plant-friendly.

#1 Nature’s Path Organic Gluten-Free Crispy Rice Cereal

Nature’s Path Organic Crispy Rice Cereal can be vegan, gluten-free, USDA Organic certified, kosher, and free of artificial flavors, colors, and preservatives.

It’s made from simple, plant-based ingredients and is nutritious and delicious.

These are similar to Rice Krispy’s original taste and texture, making them a delicious, crunchy snack.

#2 Whole Foods Market, Cereal Brown Rice Crisps Organic

365 from Whole Foods Market is another great vegan breakfast that uses organic whole grain brown rice, organic cane syrup, and sea salt.

It is also completely gluten-free because it does not contain any barley.

However, organic ingredients can affect the taste, sometimes lacking sugar.

It tastes just as good with some honey, cinnamon, or maple syrup.

#3 Barbara’s Bakery Brown Rice Crisps Cereal 10 Oz. Pack Of 6

Barbara’s Bakery Brown Rice Crisps Cereal can be a vegan substitute.

It is sold only in six-packs.

It contains organic whole brown rice, organic juice concentrate, and sea salt.

The fruit juice is either pear juice or apple, depending on the flavor. 

This cereal has a sweetened taste and remains crisp for a long time.

Because of its crunchiness, it is difficult to tell that brown rice is the main ingredient.

#4 Onedeg Cereal Rice Crisp Brown, 8 Oz

Onedeg Cereal Rice Crisp brown is another great option.

These cereals are made with organic sprouted brown and organic coconut palm sugar and unrefined salt, and vitamin E.

They contain a disclaimer that says they were made in a facility that uses wheat, soy, tree nuts, dairy, and wheat.

Therefore, they are not recommended for people with severe or extremely sensitive allergies to these ingredients. 

MUST READ  Are Nerds Vegan Friendly? Here's What You Need to Know

This cereal is great if you don’t have a problem.

It tastes almost as good as the original.

Is Rice Krispies Gluten-Free?

Is Rice Krispies Gluten-Free

The Rice Krispies aren’t gluten-free as they contain malt derived from barley, a cereal containing gluten.

Gluten-free products are usually marked with the word “malt.”

Is Rice Krispies Dairy-Free?

Is Rice Krispies Dairy-Free

Rice Krispies cereals mentioned in this article don’t contain milk or milk derivatives, so they are dairy-free.

Last Words

Are Rice Krispies Healthy

Rice Krispies Cereals contain vitamin D3, a component made from Lanolin (an oil-like substance extracted from sheep’s hair).

Although some claim it’s OK to consume vitamin D3 in small amounts, this doesn’t change that the fact vitamin D3 comes from animals.

Here’s how the Vegan Society defines Veganism.

Veganism is a philosophy that aims to eliminate all forms of cruelty and exploitation of animals for food and clothing.

It also promotes animal-free alternatives to benefit animals, humans, and the environment.

It is the practice of avoiding all products derived entirely or partially from animals.

This definition is the original one.

Products containing vitamin D3 are not considered vegan.


  • Mary M. Cameron

    Mary M. Cameron is a registered dietitian nutritionist with a Bachelor's degree in Nutrition Science from the University of California, Davis and a Master's degree in Public Health Nutrition from the University of California, Los Angeles (UCLA). With over 8 years of experience in the nutrition field, Mary is an expert in weight management, plant-based nutrition, and overall health and wellness. As an author at FitGAG, she shares her knowledge and expertise on a variety of topics, including nutrition plans, healthy recipes, and overall health and wellness tips. Mary believes that nutrition is the foundation of overall health and wellness, and she strives to inspire her readers to prioritize a balanced and varied diet, while also incorporating physical activity and self-care into their daily routines. Through her articles, Mary aims to empower her readers to make informed decisions about their nutrition and lifestyle choices, and to help them achieve their health and wellness goals.

    View all posts
error: Content is protected !!