Are Jack In The Box Tacos Vegan? The Surprising Answer!

2009 has seen much discussion online about whether Jack In The Box’s tacos is made with real meat.

Rumors suggest that they are made with soy “meat,” also known as Textured Vegetable protein, and no actual meat products.

Is this true?

Are Jack In The Box Tacos Vegan?

This is the short answer:

All tacos come with cheese and meat.

What’s Jack In The Box?

What's Jack In The Box

Jack in the Box is an American fast-food chain that has been around for a very long time.

These restaurants have over 2000 locations across the United States.

You can find chicken tenders, French Fries, burgers, and tacos.

They are a well-respected fast-food restaurant that offers a variety of delicious food appealing to more people.

You can order online or eat at one of their restaurants.

Is Jack In The Box Tacos Vegan?

Is Jack In The Box Tacos Vegan

Many people have speculated online that Jack-in-the-Box tacos might be vegan.

However, it is not vegan for vegans looking to order tacos here.

They contain soy, so they are often argued to be vegan.

However, Jack in the Box tacos also contains meat and cheese, definitely not vegan ingredients.

Many vegan options are made with soy proteins.

However, this is not the case for Jack in the Box tacos.

Although there are some vegan ingredients in tacos like an avocado-lime dipping sauce, corn tortillas and flour tortilla, shredded lettuce, and black beans, the tacos still contain real meat and other non-vegan ingredients.

These tacos contain real meat and other ingredients that may not be vegan.

The soy protein used in this recipe is a filler used to reduce production costs.

Even though they are vegetarian, these tacos still contain American cheese.

Jack In A Box Taco Ingredients

Jack In A Box Taco Ingredients

We wanted to be transparent and include all the ingredients in the Jack in the Box tacos and their Taco Sauce.

Taco Tiny 

  • Water.
  • Onions, Tomato Paste.
  •  Enriched Flour. (Wheat Flour.
  • Niacin. Reduced Iron.
  • Thiamine Mononitrate.
  • Riboflavin.
  • Folic Acid.
  • Modified Food Starch.
  • Seasoning.
  • Salt,
  • Garlic Powder.
  • Paprika [color].
  • Canola Blend Frying Oil.
  • This product contains wheat.

Taco, Regular Beef, 

  • Water,
  • Ground dark chicken,
  • Textured Vegetable Protein (Soy Flour and Caramel Color),
  •  Defatted soy Grits,
  • Seasoning (Contains Niacin (Reduced Iron, Thiamine Mononitrate),
  • Riboflavin, and Spices),
  • Salt, Garlic Powder (Hydrolyzed (Corn Soy, Wheat) Proteins),
  • Monosodium Glutamate.
  • Onion Powder.
  • Natural Flavors.

 Worcestershire Sauce (Distilled Vinegar Molasses Corn Syrup Water Salt Caramel Color Garlic Powder Sugar Spices Tamarind Natural Flavor, Sulfiting agent)


Meat Filling Ingredients

  • Beef,
  • Ground Dark chicken,
  • Water,
  • Textured Vegetable protein (Soy Flour and Caramel Colour),
  • Defatted soy Grits, Seasoning [Chili Peppers, Spices],
  • Salt,
  • Oat Fiber (Soy, Corn Gluten),
  • Disodium Guanylate Natural Flavors (Torula Yeast),
  • Natural Flavors (Torula Yeast),
  • Salt,
  • Tomato Paste (Distilled Vinegar), Sugar, Spices),
  • Tamarind,
  • Sulting Agent,
  • Natural Flavor,
  • Tomatoes,
  • Butter,
  • Sugar,
  • Tomato Powder,
  • Caramel color, Garlic Powder),
  • Spices,
  • Tuling Agent,
  • Tulites,
  • Distilled Vines,
  • Sulting Agent,

Tortilla Ingredients

  • Ground Corn,
  • Water, and Lime.
  • Canola Blend Frying Oil. 
  • Contains Wheat
  • Jack in the Box Taco sauce Ingredients

Taco Sauce 

  • Tomato Paste and Distilled Vinegar.
  • Salt,
  • Chili Peppers.
  • Modified Food Starch.
  • Dextrose,
  • Maltodextrin.
  • Spices including Paprika and Xanthan Gum.

Taco Sauce Packet 

  • Tomato Paste and Distilled White Vinegar.
  • Salt. Contains 2% or fewer of Spices.
  • Dextrose,
  • Modified Corn Starch.
  • Corn Maltodextrin.
  • Sodium Benzoate,
  • Potassium Sorbate,
  • Potassium Sorbate as Preservatives.
  • Xanthan Gum. Dehydrated Garlic.
  • Paprika.
  • Beet Powder.
  • Dehydrated Onion.
  • Monosodium Glutamate.

Do Jack In The Box Offer Vegan Options?

Do Jack In The Box Offer Vegan Options

Jack in the Box offers an extensive food selection, but their vegan options are limited.

There are many options for fried potatoes.

These include potato wedges, hash browns, French fries, and curly fries.

However, it can be challenging to make a complete meal.

If you don’t want to use any non-vegan dressings like ranch or mayonnaise, Jack in the Box can still serve you a delicious salad.

However, it might not be the satisfying vegan meal most people were looking for.

You can also opt to take the meat out of some of their meat-containing dishes and exchange it for something else.

Still, if your goal is to eat a substantial meal, you may be better off looking elsewhere.


Are Jack In The Box Tacos Suitable For Vegans

This article has information that Jack In The Box Tacos are made with natural beef and chicken products.

They are not vegan or vegetarian friendly.

Jack In The Box offers vegan options such as French Fries, Hashbrowns and Potato Wedges.


  • Mary M. Cameron

    Mary M. Cameron is a registered dietitian nutritionist with a Bachelor's degree in Nutrition Science from the University of California, Davis and a Master's degree in Public Health Nutrition from the University of California, Los Angeles (UCLA). With over 8 years of experience in the nutrition field, Mary is an expert in weight management, plant-based nutrition, and overall health and wellness. As an author at FitGAG, she shares her knowledge and expertise on a variety of topics, including nutrition plans, healthy recipes, and overall health and wellness tips. Mary believes that nutrition is the foundation of overall health and wellness, and she strives to inspire her readers to prioritize a balanced and varied diet, while also incorporating physical activity and self-care into their daily routines. Through her articles, Mary aims to empower her readers to make informed decisions about their nutrition and lifestyle choices, and to help them achieve their health and wellness goals.

error: Content is protected !!