Is Frosted Flakes Vegan? Shocking Truth Revealed!

Frosted Flakes, also known as Frosties, is a breakfast cereal made by the Kellogg Company.

It consists of sugar-coated flat flakes.

It’s not good for your health, considering the unhealthy sugar levels.

However, it has been a popular choice among both children and adults.

It was introduced to the market in 1952.

Due to its popularity, generic versions of the cereal were created in different stores worldwide.

Frosties are still the best choice, even though there are cheaper generics.

The Frosted Flakes was America’s second-bestselling cereal in 2017, with gross sales of $27 million.

Many vegans are ask that is Frosted Flakes vegan. 

Frosted Flakes might not be vegan.

However, some options are more nutritious and healthier.

Continue reading if you want to find out why this crowd favorite is not vegan.

What Is Frosted Flakes?

What Are Frosted Flakes

Frosted Flakes is a popular breakfast cereal.

It’s a Kellogg’s breakfast cereal.

Frosted Flakes is a sugar-coated corn flake with the perfect thickness and crispness.

Want to learn more about the nutritional benefits of your morning breakfast cereal?

Let’s take a look.

One cup has a nutritional value of:

  • Energie: 110 kcal
  • Sugar: 10 g
  • Dietary Fibre: 1 g
  • Saturated Fat: 0 g
  • Protein: 1 g
  • Cholesterol: 0 mg

Frosted Flakes can be a nutritious breakfast that will kickstart your day.

However, it won’t keep you full for long.

Is Frosted Flakes Vegan? What Are The Ingredients?

Are Frosted Flakes Vegan

Let’s look at the ingredients to find out if your favorite breakfast cereal is vegan.

  • Milled Corn
  • Sugar
  • Malt Flavouring
  • Vitamin D3
  • Salt
  • Niacinamide
  • Corn Syrup with High Fructose
  • Sodium Ascorbate
  • Iron reduced
  • Ascorbic acid
  • Riboflavin
  • Pyridoxine Hydrochloride
  • Thiamine HydrochlorideA
  • Folic Acid
  • Vitamin A Palmitate
  • BHT
  • Vitamin B12

Frosted Flakes contain no blatant animal ingredient other than sugar and vitamin D3.

We will now discuss these two suspect ingredients.

Why Is Vitamin D3 Not Vegan?

Why Is Vitamin D3 Not Vegan

Vitamin D3 may not be vegan.

Vitamin D can be found in many fortified foods.

Vitamin D is a vital element that helps maintain your bones, teeth, and muscles health.

Frosty flakes contain Vitamin D3.

It can be obtained from either animal-based lanolin or plant-based Lichen.

What Is Lanolin?

What Is Lanolin

Lanolin, a wool wax made from the sebaceous glands in wool-bearing animals, is created by sebum.

It protects their wool from the elements and keeps it soft and moisturized.

You can wash the raw wool with soap or hot water to remove the lanolin.

The process is then followed by deodorizing, bleaching, and drying.

Vitamin D3 made from Lichen is vegan-friendly.

Vitamin D3 is generally non-vegan, as many industries use animal-derived Vitamin D3.

Frosty Flakes does not specify whether it is made from lanolin, Lichen, or both.

Frosty Flakes has only a few micrograms of Vitamin D3 even though lanolin is an animal-driven ingredient.

Some vegans don’t like to give up their favorite breakfast cereal.

It all depends on your opinion.

Why Is Sugar Not Vegan?

Is Sugar Vegan

Sugar is not vegan.

Sugar can be vegan or not, depending on whether it is made from beet sugar or cane.

Some industries use bone to charcoal in the cane sugar refining process.

Bone char, which is mostly made from the bones of cattle and other animals, is a granular substance that can be produced by burning them.

Bone char is sometimes considered natural carbon.

Bone char is used in many sugar industries as a colorant.

This is why many vegans find this sugar refinement process unacceptable.

We don’t get beet sugar from bone char.

The beet sugar is extracted using a diffuser and mixed with additives to crystallize.

Frosted flakes are difficult to identify the sugar used.

Refined sugar does not contain any bone char particles, but it does have bone char.

I recommend contacting the company if you don’t agree with using bone char in the sugar refinement.

There are five types of Frosted Flakes:

  1. Cinnamon Frosted Flakes
  2. Frosted Flakes with Chocolates & Marshmallows
  3. Frosted Chocolate Flakes
  4. Honey Nut Frosted Flakes
  5. Frosted Flakes with Marshmallows

Other than Cinnamon Frosted Flakes and Chocolates Frosted Flakes, other variations include honey and gelatine.

Honey is extracted from beehives.

It has a direct effect on bees.

Gelatine is a protein made by boiling skin, tendons, and ligaments.

Gelatine can’t be made vegan.

Frosted Flakes may contain sugar and Vitamin D3.

Frosted Flakes Are Gluten-Free?

Frosted Flakes Are Gluten-Free

Kellogg’s Frosted Flavours use malt flavoring instead.

The malt extract is made from barley and is gluten-free.

Frosted Flakes Have Dairy?

Frosted Flakes Have Dairy

Frosted Flakes are free from Dairy and lactose.

The white color and the malt flavor are not made from milk.

Are Frosted Flakes Made With Gelatin?

Are Frosted Flakes Made With Gelatin

Most Frosted Flakes do not contain gelatin.

Only two flavors contain gelatin:

Frosted Flakes with Marshmallows or Lucky Charms Frosted Flakes.

Frosted Flakes have Pork in Them.

Most Frosted Flakes do not contain pork.

Some marshmallow flavors contain gelatin, which can be pork-based.

Frosted Flakes with Marshmallows and Lucky Charms Frosted Flakes are two examples of these flavors.

Are Frosted Flakes A Good Source Of Eggs?

Are Frosted Flakes A Good Source Of Eggs

Frosted Flakes are free of eggs. 

There are no brands or flavors that contain egg ingredients in Frosted Flakes.

Verdict: Frosted Flakes Aren’t Vegan

They are close, but the Vitamin D alone renders them non-vegan-friendly.

Everyone has their own definition of veganism.

Some vegans think it is unreasonable to forgo sugar or vitamin D in this instance.

Let’s be clear:

There is no one definition of veganism.

There are obvious things.

But there are also many gray areas that you will need to determine to feel confident about your decisions.

Get started with these breakfast cereals and feel good about it.

Vegan Alternatives For Frosted Flakes

Elan Paleo Dark Chocolate Granola Cereal

Elan Paleo Dark Chocolate Granola Cereal

This vegan breakfast cereal is made from nuts, seeds, cacao beans, and other ingredients.

This delicious combination of coconut and cacao beans gives it a distinctive flavor.

All ingredients are organic.

The best thing about EVAN Paleo Chocolate Granola Cereal?

It is free of sugar and certified GMO- and soy-free.

Reese’s Puffs Breakfast Cereal

Reese’s Puffs Breakfast cereal contains Reese’s peanut butter and Hershey’s cocoa.

With its high carbohydrate and fat content and low fructose syrup contents, this breakfast cereal is a delicious and healthy choice.

It is low in sugar, which is atypical for sweet cereals.

The taste will amaze you.

Kashi Breakfast Cereal, Cinnamon Harvest

Kashi breakfast cereal is made principally from baked organic whole wheat.

It also contains all-natural, plant-based ingredients.

The cereal’s subtle cinnamon flavor is due to organic cane sugar.

Kashi breakfast cereal is a nutritious choice for those who love healthy diet foods.

It has low fat and fewer calories.

There are moderate amounts of protein and carbohydrates.

Lark Ellen Farm Grain-Free Paleo Granola Bites

Lark Ellen Farm Grain-Free Paleo Granola Bites

If your health is important to you, this is another boon.

Lark Ellen Farm Grain Free Granola Bites are delicious vanilla, cinnamon, maple syrup, and vanilla.

This breakfast cereal is gluten-free, dairy-free, and grain-free.

The carbohydrate count is very low, making it a healthy and delicious option for a healthy morning meal.

This cereal is also free from preservatives.

This cereal has been sufficiently dehydrated to give it a unique crunchiness.

Earnest Foods Vegan Hot Cereal With Superfood Grains Quinoa, Oats, And Amarnath

This delicious breakfast cereal is made with grains, quinoa, and oats.

The perfect blend of cashew, natural cocoa, and papaya extracts gives this breakfast cereal an unbeatable taste.

It is low in calories and high in fruit-based essential nutrients.

Barbara’s Bakery Puffins Cereal Peanut Butter

This breakfast cereal has zero trans-fat.

Peanut butter and corn are the main ingredients.

This cereal has 6g of sugar per serving and no artificial flavor.

Erin Baker’s Homestyle Granola

This delicious breakfast cereal has a great combination of vanilla, almond, quinoa, and close to zero gluten.

The ingredients are freshly baked, and there are no artificial colors.

Each serving contains enough nutrients, protein, fiber, and other essential nutrients.

A significant amount of the purchase is donated to children in need.

When choosing the best vegan breakfast cereal, be sure to consider the whole grain content, fiber, protein, sugar, fat, and flavors.

Also, avoid problematic ingredients.

You can start your day with the perfect mix of nutrition, taste, health, and veganism.


  • Mary M. Cameron

    Mary M. Cameron is a registered dietitian nutritionist with a Bachelor's degree in Nutrition Science from the University of California, Davis and a Master's degree in Public Health Nutrition from the University of California, Los Angeles (UCLA). With over 8 years of experience in the nutrition field, Mary is an expert in weight management, plant-based nutrition, and overall health and wellness. As an author at FitGAG, she shares her knowledge and expertise on a variety of topics, including nutrition plans, healthy recipes, and overall health and wellness tips. Mary believes that nutrition is the foundation of overall health and wellness, and she strives to inspire her readers to prioritize a balanced and varied diet, while also incorporating physical activity and self-care into their daily routines. Through her articles, Mary aims to empower her readers to make informed decisions about their nutrition and lifestyle choices, and to help them achieve their health and wellness goals.

error: Content is protected !!