Are Takis Vegan? Read To Learn The Truth!

Can I eat Takis since it is vegan?

Are Takis Vegan?

For those of us who have become addicted to this delectable treat, this may be a worrisome question.

It’s because of the spicy spices sprinkled on the maize sticks that Takis became so popular.

Once you’ve had one, you’ll want to try more.

Even if it’s a great snack, the fact that it’s vegan is a problem, particularly for those who adhere to the PETA way of life.

Let’s go back to the beginning of this product to learn more about it.

The Barcel Company owns the renowned snack brand Taquis, which is also known as Takis.

This firm, situated in Mexico, specializes in the production of maize tortilla chips, as well as other confectionery and snack items.

Consumers now have reservations about this snack after it became a hand-to-hand selling item.

Check out this page for some answers to your most pressing questions about this delectable treat.

What Is Takis?

Takis is one of the most popular brands of corn chips on the market.

These crunchy snacks are sold by Barcel, a Mexican food manufacturer.

Takis has a unique rolling look that sets them apart from other chips. Because of this, they’ve been given the nickname “Takis.”

While Barcel has been around for decades, Takis was just introduced to the general public in the early 2000s.

Taquitos, the meat-and-cheese-stuffed corn tortillas from which they get their name, are the source of their flavor.

It wasn’t until Takis replaced Sno-Balls and Twinkies in 2012 that they reached their current level of popularity.

In the same way, Fritos and Hot Cheetos have a distinct taste and heat, Takis combine the two.

They’re seasoned to perfection and have a delicious crunch to go along with it.

There are four servings in one package of the little tortilla chips wrapped together.

A wide variety of flavors are available in takoyaki.

Fuego has you covered if you like your food spicy and astringent.

Nitro is an option if you’re looking for something a little milder in terms of taste.

Takis come in around 18 varieties, with two of those tastes being discontinued.

According to the official Barcel USA website, Takis come in a variety of flavors, the most popular of which are Fuego, Nitro, Crunchy Fajita, Guacamole, and Wild.

Are Takis Vegan Or Not?

Are Takis Vegan or Non Vegan

Takis come in a variety of flavors, some of which are vegan.

At the time of this writing, these three vegan varieties (such as Takis Fuego) use no dairy or other animal ingredients.

They use dairy, milk, cheese, and eggs in three of their tastes.

However, four flavors of Takis are still suitable for vegans.

We found no evidence that their goods included pig enzymes.

The following is a comprehensive list of Takis that are vegan:

  • Fuego -Vegan
  • Zombie – VEGAN
  • Nitro -Vegan
  • Salsa Brava – VEGAN
  • Crunchy Fajitas – NOT VEGAN (includes milk and eggs)
  • Xplosion – NOT VEGAN (includes milk and cheese)
  • Guacamole – NOT VEGAN (includes milk)

Which Takis’ Flavors Is Not Vegan?

Is Takis Vegan Or Not Vegan

Sadly, three of the five flavors of Takis is not vegan, namely:

  • Crunchy Fajita (includes natural flavors derived from milk and eggs)
  • Guacamole (includes Sodium Caseinate, a milk derivative)
  • Wild (includes both buttermilk and whey, which are derived from milk)

If you want to distinguish between vegan and non-vegan items, these are the kinds of components you should keep an eye out for.

List Of The Takis’ Ingredients.

Takis is available in a variety of tastes.

It is worth noting that just one vegan corn-based recipe is used by Barcel, the company that makes Takis.

Takis are prepared from maize flour, vegetable oil, preservation agents, coloring agents, and other spices (to name a few).

Seasonings and colors are unique to each taste.

Take a closer look at the traditional Takis Fuego’s ingredients:

Corn Masa Flour (Lime-Processed), Vegetable Oil (Palm, Soybean, Canola, or Rice Bran Oil; make sure to check to see whether Canola Oil is vegan-friendly), Yeast Extract (find out if yeast is vegan or not), Artificial Color (Red 40 Lake, Yellow 6 Lake), Natural and Artificial Flavors, Baking Soda, Soybean Oil, Chili Pepper (Chile), Disodium Inosinate (check to see if E631 is vegan), Disodium Guanylate, TBHQ (Antioxidant)], Salt, Maltodextrin, Citric Acid, Sugar, Monosodium Glutamate, Hydrolyzed Soy Protein.

While we consider sugar a vegan component because of the plant-based form it comes in, disodium inosinate is utilized in very small amounts that may be ignored as being present in this taste.

Yes, Takis Fuego is vegan since it includes all of the vegan-friendly components.

The Crunchy Fajitas Takis ingredients are here.

Oil (Palm, Soybean, Canola, Rice Bran Oil) with Lime-Processed Corn Masa, Flour Salt, Monosodium Glutamate, Corn Starch, Chili Pepper (Chile), Citric Acid, Onion Powder, Natural And Artificial Flavors (Milk), Artificial Colors (Yellow 6 Lake, Blue 1 Lake, Red 40 Lake (check if Red 40 is vegan or not, Dextrose, Sugar)]

Seasonings are all that matters.

One element sets vegan Takis different from their non-vegan counterparts.

Crunchy Fajitas Takis are made with milk and eggs to enhance the taste.

So, before making a purchase, thoroughly review the ingredient list.

Is Takis Gluten-Free?

As far as I know, they don’t meet the criteria for being gluten-free.

Celiac disease sufferers should steer clear of Takis if they are allergic to wheat or have been diagnosed.

All Takis are tagged “may contain traces of milk, egg, wheat, and peanuts” in addition to this very detailed explanation of non-vegan and vegan Takis.

It’s a bummer that Takis aren’t gluten-free, or at least not safe for people with celiac disease since they may contain enough wheat to cause an adverse reaction.

Cross-contamination warnings, such as “may contain traces of,” are frequently used on product labels to alert customers to the possibility of allergen cross-contamination.

As a result, the warning does not imply that Takis include animal products. Instead, it simply implies that all Takis varieties are made on the same machinery.

To put it another way, if you are allergic to any of the four substances listed above, this snack is not safe for you to consume.

However, given the number of artificial colors and flavors, MSG, and low-quality oils in Takis, they are hardly a nutritious snack.

Consider that Takis are not the healthiest of snacks and that there are many superior vegans and cruelty-free options available.

Is Takis Harmful To You?

In an anonymous essay published in 2013, Takis was accused of causing ulcers and colorectal cancer.

Even though it was refuted and discredited, it’s important to remember that fast food like Takis should be consumed in moderation at all times.

Takis, in fact, is bad for you.

Homemade snacks and meals are usually preferable to store-bought snacks since no packaged food is ever completely safe.

Takis is safe to take in moderation as long as you do not overdo it.

Corn chips, on the other hand, are loaded with salt, fat, and preservatives that are bad for you.

If you overindulge, these compounds may cause bloating, thirst, and headaches.

As a result of consuming too much salt and MSG over time, people are at risk of developing high blood pressure, renal failure, diabetes, and heart disease.

If you only eat one Takis at a time, you run the risk of having health problems!

Takis include BHA, BHT, and TBHQ, which should raise a red flag for anybody with a preexisting health condition.

Anhydroustoluene is also known as Butylated Hydroxyanisole (BHA).

They are synthetic compounds, and they are commonly found in large quantities in snacks to avoid rancidity.

It’s not only cosmetics and rubber goods that include phthalates.

BHA, BHT, and TBHQ have been identified by the Department of Health and Human Services as reasonably predicted human carcinogens.

It implies that if you take these chemicals even a little bit more than your body can manage, you are in danger of getting cancer.

Hyperactivity and unpredictable behavior in youngsters are also common side effects.

Even though the FDA considers these compounds safe for eating at this time, you should still take precautions to keep yourself safe.

Summary

Takis is one of the most popular brands of corn chips on the market.

Takis comes in a variety of flavors, some of which are vegan.

The Barcel Company owns the renowned snack brand Taquis, which is also known as Takis.

They use dairy, milk, cheese and eggs in four of their tastes.

Takis come in a variety of flavors, including Fuego, Nitro, Crunchy Fajita, Guacamole, and Wild.

Three of the five flavors of Takis are not vegan.

Takis are made with milk and eggs to enhance the taste.

Takis don’t meet the criteria for being gluten-free.

Celiac disease sufferers should steer clear of Takis if they are allergic to wheat or have been diagnosed.

Cross-contamination warnings, such as “may contain traces of. animal products,” do not imply Takis include animal products.

One element sets vegan Takis different from their non-vegan counterparts.

The FDA considers these compounds safe for eating at this time, but you should still take precautions to keep yourself safe.

Some Takis varieties include animal ingredients that may have been sacrificed at some point in the supply chain.

If you’re a staunch vegan, you’re probably opposed to some of these suspect components.

Final Words

Some of the Takis, such as the Fuego and Nitro-flavored Takis, are safe for vegans since they do not contain milk or eggs.

Check the ingredient list before buying if you want to avoid the animal components in the other flavors.

As a cautionary note, keep in mind that Takis includes items that may have been sacrificed at some stage in the supply chain.

Specifically, if you’re a staunch vegan, you’re probably opposed to some of these suspect components.

Vegan (no animal products) flavors of Takis:

  • Takis Nitro
  • Takis Fuego
  • Takis Salsa Brava

Several of Takis varieties include animal ingredients, making them non-vegan.

To name a few, there are:

  • Takis Xplosion
  • Takis Guacamole
  • Takis Crunchy Fajitas.

Latest Posts

Don't Miss

Stay in touch

To be updated with all the latest news, offers and special announcements.