Are Airheads Vegan? Which Airheads Products Are Vegan?

Everything you need to know about are Airheads vegan is covered in detail in our article.

Let’s take a closer look!

Since its beginning in 1986, Airheads have enjoyed widespread popularity among both children and adults.

Airheads are tangy, taffy-like, chewy candies that are produced by the Dutch-Italian company Perfetti Van Melle and are available in a variety of fruity flavor combinations.

There are fourteen different flavors available in stores throughout the United States: cheery, blue raspberry, watermelon, green apple, strawberry, and white mystery.

Other tastes include orange, grape, strawberry-watermelon, mango-chile, blue raspberry-cherry, and strawberry-watermelon-mango.

Airheads are also available in a number of different colors and designs.

All of the original Airheads goods, including Airheads Bites, Airheads Soft Filled Bites, Airheads Gummies, Airheads Gum, Airheads Xtremes, Airheads Xtremes Biters, and Airheads Xtremes Sourfuls, may be found at your local retailer.

Vegan and non-vegan versions of Airheads are also available on the market.

So, if you’re wondering which ones are vegan and which ones aren’t, feel free to continue reading this blog post.

Controversial Ingredients About Being Vegan

Before we begin our research, we’d want to establish a list of the potentially problematic components that are assumed to be vegan in our study.

In spite of the fact that we consider certain compounds to be vegan, we will make a point of noting their presence in any public ingredient lists.

The following are some of the components that have caused controversy:

Sugar

Sugar is one of the initial few ingredients in almost all confectionary creations, and it is used in a variety of ways.

Because refined cane sugar is processed with bone char in order to get the pure white color, it is a problematic product among vegans because it contains animal products.

The sugar itself does not include any bone char particles; nonetheless, the processing methods used preclude it from being considered a vegan food item.

Because the kind of sugar is seldom specified in this research, the type of sugar is assumed to be vegan in this investigation.

Sugars from non-vegan sources should be avoided at all costs, which means avoiding all of the products on this list.

Palm Oil

Is Airhead Vegan Or Vegetarian

No longer a controversial vegan component since it is derived from animals, palm oil is a problematic vegan component because its production has devastating environmental repercussions and causes pain to a wide range of organisms.

Natural And Artificial Flavorings

It is possible for natural flavors to arise from both animal and plant sources.

However, the natural flavors found in sweets are almost exclusively derived from plant origins.

If the flavors of animal origin are recognized, they will be highlighted in the dish.

Food Colors

Some food colors are a topic of concern among vegans since they include artificial ingredients.

This is owing to the fact that food colors are often tested on animals before being introduced onto the market.

In this article, we’ll assume that all food colors are vegan unless the color is derived from an animal or insect source (e.g., carmine).

Are Airheads Vegan? Which Airheads Products Vegan?

Are Airheads Bars Vegan?

Based on the list of ingredients at the bottom of the page, which was provided by the Airheads.com website, we may infer that the Airheads Bars are technically suitable for vegans and should be avoided.

Even while you can point out a few questionable items all of which stricter vegans avoid at all costs you don’t have any animal-derived products in your recipe.

Also, feel free to purchase them via Amazon, which seems to be a safe and secure venue to do so based on the hundreds of evaluations that have been published on the site.

Sugar, corn syrup, maltodextrin, dextrose, modified food starch (corn), palm oil, and less than 2 percent of the following: xanthan gum, Citric acid, water, and artificial flavors are the ingredients. Bites of Airheads in the colors Yellow 6, Yellow 5, Red 40, and Blue 1.

Are Airheads Bites Vegan?

Airheads Bites aren’t vegan-friendly, unfortunately.

Beeswax and shellac are two examples of non-vegan materials.

Beeswax, as the name indicates, is a wax substance produced by worker bees in beehives.

Shellac, on the other hand, is a resin made by female lac bugs that may be found in the jungles of India and Thailand.

It is often used as a food coloring agent, glaze, or wood finish.

Sugar, artificial tastes, and artificial colors are all included in the ingredients of Airheads Bites, which are possibly unhealthy to consume.

Sugar, Glucose Syrup, Maltodextrin, Dextrose, Hydrogenated Coconut Oil; less than 2% of the following ingredients are present: Citric Acid, Modified Corn Starch, Sorbitol, Artificial Flavors, Glycerine, Rice Starch, Carnauba Wax, Beeswax, Shellac, Gellan Gum, Sucrose Esters Of Fatty Acids, Sucrose Esters Of Fatty Acids Red 40, yellow 6, blue 1, yellow 5, yellow 6, yellow 7, and yellow 6 are the colors used.

Are Airheads Soft-Filled Bites Vegan?

Airheads; because they include beeswax and shellac, Soft Filled Bites are not suitable for vegans.

Unfortunately, gelatin is utilized in the manufacture of these airheads rather than the original ingredients.

Those of you who are unfamiliar with gelatin may be interested in learning more about it.

It is a protein that is extracted from the skin, tendons, ligaments, and bones of cows or pigs and then boiled.

It is also used as a thickening agent in products such as fruit gelatins and puddings, as well as in products such as shampoos, face masks, and other cosmetics.

In addition to gelatin, these Airheads Soft Filled Bites include potentially harmful ingredients such as artificial flavors and colors, palm oil, and palm kernel oil.

Sugar, glucose syrup, high fructose corn syrup, corn starch, food starch-modified (corn), food starch-modified (Potato), Malic acid, Dextrose, Citric acid, Coconut oil, Lactic acid, Gelatin, Artificial Flavors, Hydrogenated Palm Oil, Sorbitol Syrup, Glycerin, Salt, Fumaric acid, Trisodium Citrate, Contains less than 2% of the following ingredients: malic acid, Dextrose, citric acid, coconut oil, gelatin, artificial flavors, hydrogenated palm oil, sorbitol syrup, and sorbitol (a sugar substitute), (Yellow 5, Red 40, Blue 1, Yellow 6).

Are Airhead Gummies Vegan?

Are Airheads Vegan Or Not

Airheads Gummies are another non-vegan product to be discovered.

It contains components such as gelatin and beeswax, much to everyone’s displeasure.

However, this is not the end of the story.

The sugar, artificial flavors, and a variety of artificial colors found in these gummies, which we will examine in more detail later in this blog post, are also present in these gummies.

Contains less than 2% Citric Acid, Pectin, Artificial Flavors, Coconut Oil, Sodium Citrate, Beeswax, Carnauba Wax, Sorbitol; contains less than 2% of the following ingredients: Yellow 5, Blue 1, Yellow 6, contains less than 2% of the following ingredients: citric acid, pectin, artificial flavors, coconut oil, sodium citrate, beeswax, and carnauba wax. 6. Gum for People Who Find It Difficult to Concentrate

Are Airheads Gum Vegan?

Are Airheads Vegan Or Non Vegan

The Airheads gum is available in four flavors: blue raspberry, cherry, watermelon, and a white mystery taste that is hard to pin down.

Only one of these four flavors may be considered vegan.

The only flavor of Airheads gum that is vegan is “White Mystery,” which is the only flavor available.

Carmine may be found in the following flavors, despite the fact that they do not include any obvious animal-derived ingredients:

It is manufactured from the bodies of cochineal insects that have been dried, crushed, and then boiled to provide a crimson culinary hue.

Except for the presence of carmine, Airheads Gum contains a variety of potentially harmful compounds, including artificial flavors and colors.

This product contains less than 2% of the following ingredients: malic acid, artificial flavors, citric acid, tartaric acid, aspartame, carrageenan, coconut fat, sucralose, lecithin (soy), acesulfame K, sucrose Fatty Acid Esters, BHT to maintain freshness, Blue 1 Lake, and color (Carmines).

Are Airheads Xtremes Vegan?

Animal-based components are absent from Airheads Xtremes, with the exception of a few “questionable” compounds that are included on the label.

As a consequence, they might potentially be considered vegan.

You may get Airheads Xtremes from any of your local merchants, or you can purchase them directly from Amazon.

Among the ingredients in less than 2 percent of the product are sugar, corn syrup, wheat flour, high fructose corn syrup, food starch-modified (corn), food starch-modified (potato), malic acid, citric acid, Yellow 6, Yellow 5,

Are Airheads Xtremes Bites Vegan?

Is Airhead Vegan Or Non Vegan

In the same way that the Airheads Xtremes are only available in one flavor, so are the Xtremes Bites: Rainbow Berry.

The Xtreme Bites, in contrast to the Airheads Xtremes, do not include any vegan ingredients.

Unfortunately, carmine, a crimson food coloring made by drying, crushing, and boiling the corpses of cochineal beetles, is included in the Xtremes Bites product line.

It also has more problematic components, which I will describe in greater detail later in this blog post.

Food starch-modified (corn), food starch – unmodified (wheat), malic acid, palm oil, citric acid, artificial flavors, and preservatives are all used in the production of this product. Potassium Citrate, Colors Added (Carmine, Blue): Salt, Hydrogenated Soybean Oil, Carmine, Blue 1

Are Airheads Xtremes Sourful Vegan?

So far, the only vegan Airhead Xtreme that I’ve described is the very first one that I mentioned.

Unfortunately, this is likely to continue to be the case.

Because the Airheads Xtremes Sourfuls include gelatin, they are not suitable for vegetarians or vegans.

It also includes a plethora of other questionable ingredients, such as artificial flavors, palm oil, and synthetic colors.

All of the drugs have been connected to the suffering of animals.

Corn Starch, High Fructose Corn Starch, Corn Syrup, Food Syrup – Modified (Corn), Malic Acid, Food Syrup – Modified (Potato); Dextrose, Wheat Starch, Citric Acid, Coconut Oil, Lactic Acid, Gelatin, Artificial Flavors, Sodium Malates, Hydrogenated Palm Oil, Salt, Glycerol

Airheads Products (Both Vegan And Non-Vegan)

For individuals who follow a strict vegan diet yet sometimes indulge in a few ice cream cones, it is important to understand which goods are vegan and which are not.

Vegan Products:

  • Original Airheads
  • Airheads Bars
  • Airheads Gum- white mystery
  • Airheads Xtremes
  • Airheads Xtreme Peg Bag

Non-Vegan Products:

  • Airheads Bites
  • Airheads Xtremes Sourfuls
  • Airheads Gum (other than white mystery)
  • Airheads Gummies
  • Airheads Soft-Filled Bites are all non-vegan essentially because they contain gelatin as their core ingredient. 

Because gelatin is the principal ingredient in these products, they are not suitable for vegetarians or vegans.

Are Airheads Gluten Free?

According to the Airheads website, all Airheads products (including Airheads but excluding Airheads Xtremes) are gluten-free (including Airheads).

As a result, regular Airheads are gluten-free!

Are Airheads Bites Gluten Free?

Is Airhead Vegan Or Not

According to the Airheads website, all Airheads products (including Airheads but excluding Airheads Xtremes) are gluten-free (including Airheads).

As a consequence of this, the Airheads Bites are also gluten-free.

Are Airheads Xtremes Gluten Free?

Are Airheads Vegan or Vegetarian

According to the Airheads website, gluten is included in Airheads Xtremes ice cream.

As a result, Airheads Xtremes are not gluten-free!

Are Airheads Kosher?

Is Airhead Vegan

Yes, conventional airheads (taffy-like airheads) have been declared kosher.

The remainder of the Airhead products does not meet kosher requirements.

Are Airheads Halal?

Both Airheads Bars and Airheads Xtremes are halal, which means they do not include any animal-derived ingredients or ingredients.

Are Airheads Peanut Free?

Are Airheads Vegan Gluten Free Kosher Halal

Although peanuts are not included in the Airheads product line, the company’s website states that since peanuts would not be typical for us to detect in our items, we do not conduct any particular checks for them.

Note that, since the vast majority of the components are agricultural products, we cannot guarantee that our goods are free from these contaminants because the machinery used to process them could also process products containing these contaminants.

As a consequence, Airheads are not peanut-free as a consequence, despite the fact that they do not contain peanuts.

They may also be manufactured using the same machinery used to handle other dairy products.

When it comes to allergies, almost all Airheads products mention that they are free of peanuts and tree nuts in the allergy section of the nutrition label.

Summary

Since their beginning in 1986, Airheads have enjoyed widespread popularity among both children and adults.

Perfetti Van Melle’s Airheads candies are available in a variety of fruity flavor combinations.

Sugar Sugar is one of the initial few ingredients in almost all confectionary creations.

Because refined cane sugar is processed with bone char, it is a problematic product among vegans because it contains animal products.

Sugars from non-vegan sources should be avoided at all costs.

Some food colors are a topic of concern among vegans since they include artificial ingredients.

Palm oil is a problematic vegan component because its production has devastating environmental repercussions.

Bites of Airheads in the colors Yellow 6, Yellow 5, Red 40, and Blue 1 are not vegan-friendly.

Because they include beeswax and shellac, Soft Filled Bites Airheads are not suitable for vegans.

Less than 2% of the following ingredients are present:

Citric Acid, Modified Corn Starch, Sorbitol, Artificial Flavors, Glycerin, Salt, Fumaric acid, Trisodium Citrate, Sugar, Glucose Syrup, Maltodextrin, Dextrose, Hydrogenated Coconut Oil.

The only flavor of Airheads gum that is vegan is “White Mystery,” which is the only flavor available.

Carmine may be found in the following flavors, despite the fact that they do not include any obvious animal-derived ingredients.

It is manufactured from the bodies of cochineal insects that have been dried, crushed, and then boiled to provide a crimson culinary hue.

The Xtreme Bites, in contrast, don’t include any vegan ingredients.

For individuals who follow a strict vegan diet yet indulge in a few Airheads products, it is important to understand which goods are vegan and which are not.

Because the Airheads Xtremes Sourfuls include gelatin, they are not suitable for vegetarians or vegans.

The Airheads Bites are all non-vegan essentially because they contain gelatin as their core ingredient.

According to the Airhead website, all Airheads products (including Airheads but excluding Airheads) are gluten-free. 

Some vegans may opt to avoid such “vegan” things in the end, but if you’re like most vegans, you may be able to eat this since it is officially vegan.

Last Words: Some Airheads Are Vegan

To be more exact, the Airheads Bars and the Airheads Xtremes, to name a few flavors, are both vegan.

They do, however, include some of the questionable components that we covered earlier in this chapter.

To put it another way, they continue to include drugs that have been connected to animal mistreatment.

Some vegans may opt to avoid such “vegan” things in the end, but if you’re like most vegans, you may be able to eat this since it is officially vegan.

Latest Posts

Don't Miss

Stay in touch

To be updated with all the latest news, offers and special announcements.