Are Fruit Gushers Vegan? Truth About The Childhood Favorite

Fruit Gushers are fruit snacks that taste similar to Fruit Roll-Ups.

The outer layer is soft and chewy with a fruit-flavored inside.

The juice comes out of the candy when you bite it, thus the name.

Gushers have an unusual shape, which actually has the elongated hexagonal tri pyramid.

It’s quite a mouthful! Its shape is not important to anyone, but its unique flavor and texture.

These candies are small and colorful and look like tiny gem-like nuggets.

These fruit snacks were first introduced by General Mills in 1991 and are sold under the Betty Crocker brand.

They have been available in many tropical flavors over the years.

Recently, they were advertised as a new unidentified flavor item (UFO).

You get 6 packets in each box.

They are a great snack because they are colorful and appealing to almost everyone.

They are almost Mother-approved because they have the Betty Crocker snack label.

Betty Crocker is a name you may have heard of if you were born before 1960.

There are many varieties of Gushers, with various tropical and fruity flavors.

Some are sweet and sour, while others have sweet or spicy flavors.

Gushers combo packs can be purchased with Fruit By The Foot packs.

What Ingredients Are Fruit Gushers Made From?

What Are Fruit Gushers

Fruit Gushers’ complete list of ingredients includes Corn Syrup and Sugar, Pear Puree Concentrate, and Fructose.

Are Fruit Gushers Vegan?

We consider them vegan, as there are no obvious animal products in the gushers.

MUST READ  OMG! Are Jolly Ranchers Vegan? Learn The Truth!

Gushers are not a healthy snack made from whole foods, but they fit within the definition of veganism that seeks to eliminate animal cruelty and exploitation whenever possible.

Do Fruit Gushers Have Gelatin?

According to General Mill’s website, no gelatin is found in Gushers.

Fruit Gushers Ingredient Breakdown

Are Gushers Vegan

Below are the ingredients for gushers, along with more information about each one’s vegan status.

This is the Strawberry Splash flavor.

It was taken from the General Mills Website.

It is important to always check the ingredient lists of stores as they can sometimes be out-of-date.

An asterisk* has been placed next to ingredients of particular importance.

You’ll see that some of these ingredients are not from the United States, as you can see.

Unless an ingredient is a driver for the animal agriculture industry, you are better off not worrying about it.

It doesn’t do anything to stop animal suffering.

Corn Syrup

Corn syrup is a sweetener that is made from the starch of corn.

It’s made using enzymes.

There are no animals involved.


Sugar can be tricky because some sugars are filtered with bone char.

Many vegan groups agree that sugar in food products should not be a concern.

These products should not be avoided as they would cause animal suffering.

Most likely, the sugar manufacturers don’t know if the product is vegan.

Pear Puree

Self-explanatory! Pureed pears.

Modified Corn Starch

Certain enzymes are used to modify the viscosity and other functions of corn.


Sugar is found in fruits.

Although sugar is not a part of whole fruits, it can be a problem for your health.


A food additive made from starch from plants.

Palm Oil

Are you trying to figure out how veganism can be sustainable and healthy?

This starter kit is a great vegan option.

MUST READ  Is Tahini Vegan? You Might Be Surprised

Due to its harvesting method, it can be considered a controversial ingredient.

However, the subject is complex and subjective.

We wouldn’t need to use as much land for animal farming.

This would allow us to produce these kinds of ingredients ethically.

How far you want to go down this rabbit hole is your choice.

I, like many others, try to avoid palm oils as much as possible.


The majority of glycerin comes from plants, but it is possible to get it from animals.

This is covered in more detail in our vegan gum article.

Cottonseed Oil

An oil made from the seeds of cotton plants.

Grape Juice Concentrate

This grape juice has had most of its water removed, making it a “concentrated form.”


Seaweed is used as a thickener.

Citric Acid

Citric acid, which is naturally found in citrus fruits, can be used as a preservative or flavoring agent.


This ingredient is used as an emulsifier.

It’s another controversial ingredient.

It could be either animal- or plant-derived.

It is unlikely that the company will help you as they won’t know the origins of your problem.

We recommend that you not worry about it.

It is a minor ingredient and isn’t a major driver in animal agriculture.

PETA agrees.

Sodium Citrate

It can be made from sodium bicarbonate and citric acid – it is not animal-derived.

Malic Acid

It is extracted from plants, and there are no concerns about its vegan status.

Ascorbic Acid

This is vitamin C.

Natural Flavor

Natural flavors can be any approved to be used in food as flavoring agents.

Sometimes, it is difficult to determine the origin of a flavor even if you contact the company.

We recommend that you not sweat it, much like our position regarding monoglycerides.

It is less likely that these ingredients will be derived from animals if fewer people purchase animal products.

MUST READ  Is Molasses Vegan? The Surprising Truth!

Potassium Citrate

It is the potassium salt of citric acids.

This one is not important.


A gelatin substitute made from algae.

This ingredient is a favorite of ours, and we recommend that you use it to make your own jello.

Red 40

It is commonly thought to be made from beetles, but it is made from coal.

This one is not something to worry about.

Xanthan Gum

A thickener is typically made from the fermentation of bacteria.

It is not vegan.

Last Words About Fruit Gushers’ Veganism

Can Fruit Gushers Eat Vegans

While some ingredients may not be as clear-cut as others, we recommend not worrying about them.

It is the best thing to help the planet and animals by removing animal products from your diet (meats, eggs, dairy, gelatin, etc.).


  • Mary M. Cameron

    Mary M. Cameron is a registered dietitian nutritionist with a Bachelor's degree in Nutrition Science from the University of California, Davis and a Master's degree in Public Health Nutrition from the University of California, Los Angeles (UCLA). With over 8 years of experience in the nutrition field, Mary is an expert in weight management, plant-based nutrition, and overall health and wellness. As an author at FitGAG, she shares her knowledge and expertise on a variety of topics, including nutrition plans, healthy recipes, and overall health and wellness tips. Mary believes that nutrition is the foundation of overall health and wellness, and she strives to inspire her readers to prioritize a balanced and varied diet, while also incorporating physical activity and self-care into their daily routines. Through her articles, Mary aims to empower her readers to make informed decisions about their nutrition and lifestyle choices, and to help them achieve their health and wellness goals.

    View all posts
error: Content is protected !!