Are Pretzels Vegan? Find Out Now!

Pretzels don’t have to be a German tradition.

This sweet-salty snack has been embraced by many people from around the globe.

It is nutritious, and many would agree with that fact.

But are pretzels vegan?

Let’s find the answer.

What Is A Pretzel?

What Is A Pretzel

Pretzels are bread that is famous for their shape.

These “little bracelets,” which brezel literally means (from a Latin root), can generally be considered German.

However, there are many theories about their origins and etymology.

Pretzel, or “brezel,” is a German word that means wheat flour, yeast, and salt.

Original pretzels are made with vegan ingredients and topped with sesame seeds or poppy seeds.

However, the traditional German way to make them is with large salt crystals.

Because of its popularity, more versions of this bread were created.

There are many other flavors available.

You can now choose from soft or hard pretzels.

Pretzels are vegan right from the core, just like in Germany.

Veganism becomes difficult when you consider the manufacturing methods used, which are far more advanced than the traditional method.

Typical Pretzel Ingredients

It doesn’t matter where they come from or how they got their name.

It does not matter where they came from or how they were made.

And, of course, whether they are vegan.

Pretzels are made of a basic dough made with soft wheat flour, yeast (and yes, yeast can be vegan), water and salt, sometimes sugar.

Although large salt crystals are a common topping in Germany, sesame and poppy seeds are also used.

That is it.

While there are some sugar concerns and some flour issues, most people would be happy to conclude that pretzels can be made from plant-based ingredients and are vegan.

How Are Pretzels Even Made?

How Are Pretzels Even Made

We must understand how a pretzel is made to fully determine if it’s vegan.

Pretzels can be made from refined flour, sugar, oil, salt, and other plant-based ingredients.

I have noticed that some DIY recipes call for butter and eggs, which immediately makes them non-vegan.

These animal ingredients are used in most recipes to brush the dough.

This gives the pretzels a thin, greasy coating that encourages browning and sets in the oven.

This approach is also used in modern and traditional bakeries.

Adding fats such as butter and margarine (modern) gives the dough a unique flavor.

MUST READ  Are Smarties Vegan? The Truth About These Sweet Treats!

These Ingredients Are Not Included In Mass-Produced Pretzels.

The factory process begins with shortening and sugar.

Next, the salt goes in a large mixer machine.

This machine automatically adds yeast and corn syrup to the mixture.

The dough is then passed through a hopper.

This feeds each piece of dough to the guillotine, which cuts them into smaller pieces to make pretzels.

The dough is then shaped into noodles using conveyor belts.

Next, the dough is twisted into pretzel shapes by a machine like a robot.

The conveyor belt is then used to transport the raw pretzel.

This allows the dough time to rise.

The raw pretzel is then heated to 180o F with liquid sodium hydroxide.

This seals in moisture and makes it chewy.

The pretzels are baked in an oven about the same length as a bus.

After three and a quarter minutes at 560 of, they are ready to be taken home.

They are then packaged and put through a freezer for 30 minutes.

This entire process does not use any animal-based ingredients.

Nevertheless, every company is different.

Two Types Of Pretzels

There are two types: hard and soft pretzels

Soft Pretzels

Soft Pretzels

Pretzels are made with wheat flour and salt.

The Catholic Church was very strict about veganism in those days, especially during Lent.

All kinds of meat, milk, and eggs were banned.

Pretzels were allowed to continue, however.

Soft pretzels can be described as soft bread or squishy.

These pretzels are best devoured after they have been made.

You can season anything: cheese, chocolate, cinnamon, and seeds, as well as nuts.

I started to think.

I find Walmart pretzels boring.

So I decided to make them at my home.

The first two batches were thrown out because I am a terrible baker.

A soft pretzel baked fresh in the oven is heaven.

It’s fantastic, just think about it.

Hard Pretzels

Hard Pretzels

American Americans are proud to have discovered hard pretzels.

You can choose to have a batch incorrectly overbaked or contain less water.

The result was fantastic.

Pretzels are as simple as they come.

Wheat Flour, Water, And Yeast Are All You Need. Simple, Right?

How to Make Homemade Pretzels

The bulk of a pretzel is wheat flour, which accounts for 65-70%.

About 9% of the protein is contained in this product.

The quality of the flour is what makes your pretzel great.

Delicious pretzels don’t come from low-quality, damaged wheat flour.

A hard pretzel is made by keeping the moisture content low.

You can keep hard pretzels for an extended time.

Pretzels have a unique flavor and texture due to their complex, acidic exterior combined with their acidic interior.

Pretzels Are Vegan, Then?

Are Pretzels Vegan

Vegan pretzels are made from the original ingredients.

MUST READ  Is Dave's Killer Bread Vegan? Read This!

However, since their popularity, the process has been commercialized.

The list now includes ingredients that are not vegan-friendly.

It is common to add non-vegan ingredients like butter, eggs, and milk to make pretzels more delicious.

There are dairy products and refined flour, as well as sugar.

Due to the use of bone char in refining sweeteners, strict vegans do not allow the processing.

What Ingredients You Should Watch Out For?


Which Materials Should You Pay Attention to in Pretzels

These products are not vegan.

These animal products are often used in bread and pastry recipes to enhance the flavor.

These non-vegan ingredients are used to enhance the flavor of bread and pastries.

However, it is not part of vegan living since they come from chickens.

These products are highly flavorful.

Vegans should be careful to read the labels as they often list the ingredients at the back of the product.


Most bread recipes will include dairy products.

They are added to the dough before being mixed and formed to give it a rich taste and soft texture.

There are vegan kinds of butter, but some butter contains milk.

Some butter can also be made with skim butter.

This butter is also used frequently in baking.

It is used as an ingredient and to coat sheets to prevent sticking.


Honey is an animal product.

Vegans are also against the unsustainable harvesting of honey.

Many honeybees end up dying.

Sweet and delicious honey is a classic flavor used in pretzel snacks.

You can also make your own pretzels using maple syrup.

Milk & Cheese Flavorings

Both milk and cheese are dairy products that aren’t part of the vegan diet.

These dairy products are standard in bakery pretzels as they are flavor enhancers for soft and hard pretzels.

The dough from the bakery often contains milk before forming into a twistable pretzel.

Vegan Pretzel Brands

Vegan Pretzel Brands

Rold Gold Pretzels

Rold Gold Pretzels can be described as mini pretzels baked in various ways.

This makes them a healthier snack.

It is made with natural ingredients and corn syrup, adding its nutritional value.

Rold Gold uses the same wheat ingredients as Garden Vegetable to make this vegan pretzel brand.

They also offer products that aren’t vegan, like the Garlic Parmesean Thin Crisps or Buffalo Wing Thin Crisps.

Apart from the packed pretzel, they also offer peanut butter-filled snacks.

UTZ Pretzels

UTZ Pretzels are one of many vegan options that you will find in shops.

You can choose from various flavors, such as the Utz Classic Wheels Pretzels or Sourdough Hard Pretzels.

These are the only vegan products you can trust because all other items are made with non-vegan ingredients.

MUST READ  Is Glycerin Vegan? Discover the Truth Now!

Some manufacturers use peanut butter and honey wheat, while others use chocolate, such as Snyder’s Chocolate-covered Pretzels.

Unique Snacks

Unique snack is a famous brand that makes pretzels.

They are cautious about the ingredients they use.

Their products are called pretzels Split, and they bake them.

You can also find coated pretzels.

However, these may contain the non-vegan ingredient.

You can also find pretzel dips flavored with honey mustard, jalapeno, and horseradish.

If you are vegan, it is essential to read the labels carefully.

Last Words

Pretzels for vegans

Pretzels combine yeast, flour, and water at their core.

However, to enhance the flavor, animal fats and other additives (such as toppings and dipping oils) are added later on in the process.

Some bakeries can make vegan pretzels, but they must be asked before you order.

You should also avoid toppings or dipping sauces that contain dairy-based ingredients, honey, or both (like the mustard dip).

The original store-bought pretzels are vegan.

However, you should always be on the lookout for versions that contain cheese and honey.

If you don’t want to buy pre-made pretzels, there are many vegan options.

You can make your own salty snacks that contain vegan ingredients.

You can find many recipes online for cinnamon sugar, sourdough nibblers, and other plant-based crackers.

If you are only interested in vegan products, it is crucial to be thorough.

If these products are mass-produced, it is impossible to ensure that the bakery still makes vegan-friendly pretzels.

Not all pretzels are vegan.

Make sure to read the label before you make your choice.


  • Mary M. Cameron

    Mary M. Cameron is a registered dietitian nutritionist with a Bachelor's degree in Nutrition Science from the University of California, Davis and a Master's degree in Public Health Nutrition from the University of California, Los Angeles (UCLA). With over 8 years of experience in the nutrition field, Mary is an expert in weight management, plant-based nutrition, and overall health and wellness. As an author at FitGAG, she shares her knowledge and expertise on a variety of topics, including nutrition plans, healthy recipes, and overall health and wellness tips. Mary believes that nutrition is the foundation of overall health and wellness, and she strives to inspire her readers to prioritize a balanced and varied diet, while also incorporating physical activity and self-care into their daily routines. Through her articles, Mary aims to empower her readers to make informed decisions about their nutrition and lifestyle choices, and to help them achieve their health and wellness goals.

error: Content is protected !!