Wondering Are Ritz Crackers Vegan? Read This!

Are you a vegan who has a hard time deciding what to eat?

If you’re wondering are Ritz Crackers vegan or not, this article will go through the ingredients in depth.

While you’re determining if Ritz Crackers is vegan, please continue reading to discover more about Ritz Crackers that you may not have known previously.

Ritz Crackers have been one of the world’s most popular snack crackers for more than 80 years, thanks to their simple taste and a wide variety of flavors.

History Of Ritz Cracker

Sydney Stern, a cookie and biscuit creator at Nabisco, was the one who came up with the concept for Ritz Crackers back in 1934.

Stern established the Ritz in the 1930s as a way to infuse a little elegance into everyone’s daily life during the Great Depression.

He was inspired by the Ritz hotels, from which the name originated.

Ritz Crackers are priced to be accessible to the widest possible range of individuals.

When they first came out, their box price was 19 cents, and their motto was “a taste of the high life.”

According to Mondelez International, Inc., the business that currently owns Ritz Crackers, manufactures and distributes 12 billion crackers every year, according to the firm.

Are Ritz Crackers Vegan?

Are Ritz Crackers Vegan Or Not

That is not right at all.

Despite the fact that Ritz Crackers do not include any animal products, they are not suitable for vegans to consume since they contain sugar (bone char) and natural flavors that cannot be certified as being derived only from botanical sources.

What Are The Ingredients Of Ritz Crackers?

Are Ritz Crackers Vegan Suitable

You will find the following items in Ritz Crackers:

Ritz Crackers containing wheat flour (wheat flour, niacin, reduced iron, thiamine mononitrate (vitamin B1), riboflavin (vitamin B2), and vegetable oil (soybean, canola, palm, or partially hydrogenated cottonseed oil) are known as “whole grain bread.” Whole grain bread is defined as “bread made with whole grains.”


There is a wide range of goods made from soybeans, wheat, and gluten-containing cereals available on the market.

What Is It About Ritz Crackers That Prevents Them From Being Vegan?

Are Ritz Crackers Vegan Or Non Vegan

Ritz Crackers contain a significant amount of sugar and natural flavors, making them incompatible with vegan diets:

MUST READ  Are Funyuns Vegan? Find Out Here!

White sugar is produced by bleaching brown sugar using bone char, a filter obtained from cow bones, and then refining the resulting product.

The phrase “natural flavors” should be taken with a grain of salt since it suggests that the flavorings are derived from plants rather than from animals, which is incorrect.

The Use Of Certain Ingredients Could Raise Questions

Are Ritz Crackers Vegan Friendly

Although it is unlikely, it is conceivable that some of the ingredients in Ritz crackers are not vegan-friendly. Let’s get straight to it, shall we?

Cane Sugar

Due to the fact that refined cane sugar is processed with bone char, which is ground-up animal bones, and therefore has come into contact with the sugar, it is not acceptable for vegans.

Because Nabisco purchases sugar from a variety of suppliers, it is hard for the company to determine whether their products include sugar that has been handled in this way.

We are unable to certify Ritz crackers as a vegan since they include bleached cane sugar in all of their variations.

Natural Flavors

There are two types of sources for this substance: animal and plant. Natural flavors in the snack, on the other hand, are a mystery to the firm that manufactures the product.

Instead of crackers, if you’re vegan and wish to avoid any crackers that may include ingredients that are not vegan, it’s advisable to eat something else instead.

Nabisco, the parent company of Ritz Crackers, may also be contacted if you would like to learn more about the “natural flavor” characteristics of the Ritz Crackers product.

Palm Oil

When making Ritz crackers, it’s crucial to remember that extracting the vegetable oil that goes into making them causes ecological destruction across the world’s forests.

Purchasing things that contain this chemical is a kind of support for the chemical’s ongoing existence.

The cultivation of palm oil plants results in deforestation because land must be cleared to make way for the plants’ development, which causes deforestation.

The loss of biodiversity and animal habitats, as well as the contamination of the air caused by the controlled burning of land, are all detrimental consequences.

Some vegans are concerned about ethical issues, but others are not.

It is essentially a question of personal taste as to what you eat and drink in life.

Ritz Crackers Are Available In Many Flavors

Over time, Ritz has introduced a number of different variations, including a range of different ingredients, some of which are plainly not vegan.

MUST READ  Wondering Is Gatorade Vegan? Let's See The Answer!

Ritz Original Crackers

This particular brand of Ritz crackers has both refined sugar and natural flavorings in the same package.

They are a popular snack, whether eaten on their own or sandwiched between two crackers with hummus or peanut butter.

Even if you wanted to triple stack it, you could go ahead and do it.

Ritz Toasted Chips

As a consequence, it is not suited for vegans due to the presence of milk in this taste.

Furthermore, for those of you looking to improve your cardiovascular health, this flavor of Ritz crackers has 55% less fat than traditional store-bought fried potato chips.

Because they are toasted rather than fried, they are a healthier alternative than the others in terms of nutrition.

Whatever your situation is, whether you’re on the run or preparing a kid’s lunch, these one-ounce packs are ideal for eating on the go or making a fast lunch for your child.

Because of the presence of dairy ingredients in this recipe, it is apparent that it is not vegan-friendly.

Ritz Roasted Vegetable Crackers

Red and green peppers, carrots, onions, cabbage, and radishes are just a few of the veggies that are utilized in this recipe.

Anyone concerned about the ethical implications of palm oil should be informed that it is a component of this flavor.

Within the box, you will find things that have been individually wrapped.

Ritz Crisps and Thins: Sour Cream & Onion

Due to the presence of cheese in the ingredient list, this is not a vegan Ritz cracker flavor.

In addition, these onion-flavored crackers and chips are toasted rather than deep-fried, as is the case with many other items available on the market.

Honey Wheat Ritz

Honey wheat ritz is a popular breakfast cereal that is made with wheat and honey.

In this recipe for Ritz crackers, the honey is utilized to give the whole grain flavor a little sweeter taste than it would otherwise have.

Depending on your level of veganism, honey may or may not be considered a vegan food source (there are some vegans who are more stringent with their dietary choices).

If you’re a vegan, you may be astonished to find that beehives are often destroyed by humans in the search for honey, leaving the bees with the obligation of having to create a brand new beehive or die.

Despite the fact that honeybees generate a byproduct that is not necessarily meant for human consumption, honey is utilized by bees to aid in the reproduction of their species.

One advantage of using them is that they do not contain any cholesterol or trans fat.

Ritz Crisps and Thins: Bacon

Despite the fact that this Ritz variation does not include any actual bacon, it does have a smoky flavor.

MUST READ  Wondering Is Starburst Vegan? Read This!

This flavor does not include any animal products, but it does contain the problematic sugar component.

If you’re looking for something a little hotter, try these, which are seasoned with black pepper and served over rice.

Ritz Bits

These little ritz crackers are created with cheese sandwiched between them, giving them the appearance of a miniature sandwich in their presentation.

It goes without saying that they are not vegan since the recipe contains cheese.

Is Ritz A Healthy Choice For You?

They aren’t the healthiest option when it comes to nutrition, but they aren’t the worst ones either.

If you’re thinking about snacking, it all boils down to how much or how little you want to consume.

Ritz crackers may be made healthier by spreading them with protein-rich peanut butter or by constructing a mini-sandwich out of a piece of cucumber and a slice of tomato.

All of the Ritz cracker varieties include enhanced wheat flour, and as a result, they are not gluten-free, even if you do not have a gluten intolerance or are merely attempting to reduce your gluten intake.

Finally, Remark That

In spite of the fact that Ritz Crackers do not include any animal products, they do contain ingredients that are not acceptable for vegans to consume.

Because of the fact that it is impossible to tell whether a natural taste derives from plants or animals and because white sugar is refined using bone char, both of these ingredients are considered non-vegan.

As previously stated, vegans are unable to eat Ritz Crackers because they include the animal-harming ingredients listed above.


  • Sophie Hayward

    Sophie Hayward is a registered dietitian nutritionist with a Bachelor's degree in Nutrition and Dietetics from the University of Florida and a Master's degree in Public Health Nutrition from the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill. With over 5 years of experience in the nutrition field, Sophie is an expert in weight management, chronic disease prevention, and overall health and wellness. As an author at FitGAG, she shares her knowledge and expertise on a variety of topics, including nutrition plans, healthy recipes, and overall health and wellness tips. Sophie believes that a balanced approach to nutrition is essential for overall health and well-being, and she strives to inspire her readers to make sustainable lifestyle changes that promote optimal health. Through her articles, Sophie aims to empower her readers to achieve their nutrition goals, overcome challenges, and enhance their overall quality of life.

    View all posts
error: Content is protected !!