Question: Is Twizzlers Vegan & Gluten Free ?

As a vegan, are you one of those who find it difficult to choose food?

If you are wondering whether is Twizzlers vegan or not, in this article, we explain the contents of Twizzlers in detail for you.

While you find out if Twizzlers is vegan, please read on to learn about twizzers you may not have known before.

What Is Twizzlers?

Twizzlers are a fruity rope candy that is similar to licorice.

The candy is available in various flavors like strawberry, original cherry, licorice mystery, and rainbow.

You’ll find this kind of candy in convenience stores, grocery stores, as well as in movie theaters, at the concession stands.

While the shape is similar to that of licorice in appearance, the only similar flavor is the licorice taste.

The strawberry or cherry flavors are distinctive in their own way and are not comparable to Twizzlers brands and do not taste like the red licorice we are familiar with.

Is Twizzlers Vegan?

Technically, Twizzlers is vegan.

There are no animal products that we can confirm.

However, the issue is that some ingredients have an asterisk next to them or, at the very least, certainly aren’t vegan.

In essence, it is dependent on the depth of the rabbit hole that vegans are looking to enter when you Twizzlers that is vegan.

If a straightforward “technically yes” was all you needed, you’re on the right track and take pleasure in your Twizzlers in other cases, keep reading.

4 Ingredients That May Not Be Vegan In Twizzlers

Before we begin, let’s examine the list of ingredients for the traditional strawberry Twizzlers flavor:

  • Corn syrup
  • Wheat flour
  • Sugar
  • Cornstarch
  • Palm oil
  • Salt
  • Artificial flavor
  • Glycerin
  • Citric acid
  • Potassium sorbate
  • Artificial Colors (red 40)
  • Soy Lecithin
MUST READ  Are Hot Cheetos Vegan? Learn The Truth About Hot Cheetos!

At first glance, it appears that the Twizzlers ingredients list may appear vegan; upon closer inspection, the licorice ingredient is a bit more complicated.

Here’s why.

#1 Sugar

There’s a lot of sugar inside Twizzlers. Only four of these Twizzlers include 19 grams of sugar.

This is equal to a raw doggie consuming five spoonfuls of sweet stuff.

They are not recommended for anyone suffering from diabetes or people who want to trim their waist; however, the high sugar content is also a problem for vegans.

Although some of the sugar is made in the form of corn syrup.

However, the majority comes from cane sugar.

The issue here is that a significant quantity of white sugar is bleached by using bone char from animals in refining.

It’s difficult to determine the difference between sugar that does or does not for certain, and that’s why the majority of vegans stay clear of this ingredient.

#2 Palm Oil

Palm oil, just like mineral oil is among the ingredients that can make you think about the reasons behind your decision to be vegan.

Although it doesn’t contain blood from animals, it’s a plant-based product and does contain blood as part of its process.

Palm oil is a major contributor to massive forest deforestation and has a huge environmental impact.

There aren’t enough regulations and oversight of its practices in the majority of the countries where it is extracted.

It is a danger to animals and even small human populations from rural areas.

#3 Artificial Colors and Flavors

Some natural colorings are animal-based, like carmine, which is made of bugs.

However, considering that most of the synthetic coloring processes are created in a vegan laboratory, they ought to be sure?

However, it’s not as simple as it sounds.

Colors and flavorings made of artificial ingredients need to undergo extensive and ongoing testing with animals to ensure they’re safe to consume.

MUST READ  Is Olive Oil Vegan? The Truth About This Popular Cooking Oil

These colors and flavors require regular retesting from dogs to mice as long as they’re in the marketplace and cannot be considered vegan.

Red 40, specifically, is made of petroleum, a completely different issue for vegans.

#4 Trans Fats

Although it may not be an entirely vegan issue, I still would label this Twizzlers trans fat as something worth noticing.

The FDA allows small quantities of trans fats to be reduced to 0, resulting in incorrect labeling on candies and sweets.

Trans fats are a bad ingredient for you if you want to improve your health.

They can reduce your good cholesterol and increase your bad cholesterol.

Although a label may say, Twizzlers have 0 grams of trans fats.

Look for ingredients labeled “partially hydro carbonated,” “monoglycerides,” or “diglycerides” since that indicates that trans fats exist.

Is Twizzlers Gluten-Free?

Is Twizzlers Vegan & Gluten Free

Many people follow an all-vegan diet and avoid gluten, and I thought it might be helpful to add this question.

While being vegan doesn’t mean you have to be gluten-free, some people prefer to keep animal products gluten-free from their diets.

Twizzlers isn’t gluten-free candy, as the candy contains wheat flour.

They are not gluten-free because the Hershey Company specifically states that every flavor of Twizzlers can be dangerous for those who adhere to a gluten-free lifestyle.

The most common non-vegetarian ingredients in sweets You should be looking for

1. Gelatin

In the case of chewy candy, gelatin is an ingredient that vegans and vegetarians are aware of.

The absence of gelatin is likely the reason why many people believe that the Twizzlers (and Marshmallows) is vegan.

Gelatin, which is derived from the boiled skin bone, and tendons from animals like pigs and cows, is a protein that is not vegan, and therefore, be on the lookout for it on the wrappers of your candy.

2. Carmine

As previously mentioned, natural colors and flavors are preferred over artificial ones, unless in cases where they’re not vegan.

MUST READ  Is Creatine Vegan Friendly? 6+ Vegan Creatine Supplements!

Carmine, also known as cochineal, is a deep natural food coloring made from crushed beetles.

The choice of red 40 in place of carmine is a positive indication for certain reasons but is not for everyone and does not mean that Twizzlers have become vegan.

3. Milk Fats

Milk can be found in everything from your favorite chips to your most loved candy.

Being vegan milk is a popular ingredient to stay clear of.

It does come up in the oddest places, and I’m still confused by the unneeded addition of animal products to my vegan candy, even today.

Final Words For Twizzlers’ Veganism

Is Twizzlers Vegan Gluten Free

To summarize, Twizzlers is vegan.

We can confirm that there are no animal products.

The problem is that certain components have an asterisk next to them or, at the very least, aren’t vegan.

When it comes to vegan Twizzlers, it all boils down to the depth of the dark path that vegans want to go down.

If a simple “technically yes” was all you required, you’re on the right route.


  • Sophie Hayward

    Sophie Hayward is a registered dietitian nutritionist with a Bachelor's degree in Nutrition and Dietetics from the University of Florida and a Master's degree in Public Health Nutrition from the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill. With over 5 years of experience in the nutrition field, Sophie is an expert in weight management, chronic disease prevention, and overall health and wellness. As an author at FitGAG, she shares her knowledge and expertise on a variety of topics, including nutrition plans, healthy recipes, and overall health and wellness tips. Sophie believes that a balanced approach to nutrition is essential for overall health and well-being, and she strives to inspire her readers to make sustainable lifestyle changes that promote optimal health. Through her articles, Sophie aims to empower her readers to achieve their nutrition goals, overcome challenges, and enhance their overall quality of life.

    View all posts
error: Content is protected !!