Are Fruity Pebbles Vegan? EXPLAINED!

Who can forget the childhood favorite Fruity Pebbles?

It’s also a magical version of Cocoa Pebbles, which is equally delicious!

This delicious snack is a favorite of many of us, and we eat it every day.

Our favorite childhood cereal is being rediscovered, thanks to veganism.

Let’s have a closer look.

Post-Consumer Brands, an American cereal manufacturer, has launched two brands of cereals:

Cocoa Pebbles and Fruity Pebbles.

The Flintstones characters were used as spokespersons to make them famous.

Both are rice-based cereals that have a crispy, delicious taste.

Fruity Pebbles comes in fruity flavors, including grape, lime, and incredibly purple flavors.

Cocoa Pebbles come in unique cocoa flavors (sweetened with sugar).

Are Fruity Pebbles vegan?

Let’s take a look what’s inside in Fruity Pebbles.

What Are Fruity Pebbles

What Are Fruity Pebbles

Fruity Pebbles is an excellent rice-based cereal.

It’s crispy and delicious.

There are many delicious fruity flavors available, making it hard to resist.

The original rice cereal flakes were available in orange, cherry, and lemon flavors.

Later, new varieties were introduced to satisfy the growing tastes of the public.

Fruity Pebbles now comes in five flavors: grape, strawberry, Incrediberry Purple, and Bedrock Berry Pink.

Fruity Pebbles Ingredients

Sugar, Rice, Sugar, Hydrogenated Vegetable Oil (Coconut and Palm Kernel Oils), Salt. Ascorbic Acid (Source Of Vitamin C), Ascorbic Acid [Vitamin C], Niacinamide (Source of Vitamin C], Vitamin B6, Vitamin A Palmitate (Vitamin B2) Thiamin Mononitrate (“Vitamin B1) Folic Acid, Vitamin B12 and Vitamin E.

These are the significant issues:

  • Sugar – Be cautious if you see the word “sugar” on an ingredient label. Many white sugars are not vegan because they were processed with bone charcoal. Most large candy and cereal companies have at least one supplier who uses bone char to filter the sugar.
  • Palm oil I, along with many ethical vegans, don’t eat any palm oil. The destruction of the orangutan and tiger populations is caused by palm oil. Animals are also killed in brutal ways to clear land. Although technically vegan, it is controversial. You can decide for yourself.
  • Natural flavors – Although vegan can be used, they can also be made from milk or other animal products. It is a broad term that encompasses tons of ingredients.
  • Artificial colors – You can find many in Fruity Pebbles, such as red 40 and yellow 6. Artificial colors are not vegan as they are frequently tested on animals (who may be killed if they die in the research).
  • Vitamin D Most vitamin D added to cereals is made from lanolin (sheep’s wool), which is not vegan.

Are Fruity Pebbles Vegan?

Are Fruity Pebbles Vegan

Although vitamin D3 is found in Fruity Pebbles and Cocoa Pebbles, Fruity Pebbles and Cocoa Pebbles are not vegan.

Fruity Pebbles and Cocoa Pebbles contain vitamin D3.

This is a waxy substance made from sheep wool, called lanolin.

Other ingredients, such as sugar, artificial colors, and palm oil, raise questions in addition to vitamin D3.

Fruity Pebbles Vegan Alternatives

Fruity Pebbles Vegan Alternatives

These are some alternatives that vegans could choose to replace Fruity Pebbles:

ELAN Granola Cereal in Almond Pecan Walnut Coconut

Vegan, gluten-free and dairy-free, ELAN Original Granola Cereal can be used as a breakfast cereal.

The cereal is also free of salt, while the syrup, nuts, and seeds retain a soft, fiber-filled taste.

Food For Life Ezekiel 4:19: Organic Sprouted Grain Cereal and Golden Flax

This cereal is available in stores and online.

It’s vegan.

This cereal is based on a Holy Bible recipe.

It is natural, organic, and free from yeast.

Fiber One Cereal Original Bran Whole Grain Cereal

This cereal claims each serving contains 13 grams of whole grains.

Although the cereal is vegan, it contains aspartame.

However, there are concerns about its health effects.

Cascadian Farm Organic Fruitful O’s Cereal

This Cereal can be used as a vegan substitute for Fruity Pebbles.

They’re delicious and can be an excellent choice for your first meal of the morning.

Barbara’s Puffins Original Cereal

This cereal is vegan-friendly and suitable for children.

They are full of whole grains and high in fiber.

They also have less sugar.

This means that children can enjoy their cereal with no worries about their pearly whites.

Are Fruity Pebbles Healthy?

Are Fruity Pebbles Healthy

The name is not to be taken seriously.

Fruity Pebbles are not fruit-free and far from healthy.

Fruity Pebbles’ efforts to reduce sugar in their boxes in 2010 by reducing the total sugar in each box still failed.

They also contain artificial sugars and natural flavors, which should be avoided.

Red Dye 40 is one of these ingredients, and it is a red flag for vegans and for everyone.

Nutritional Information For Fruity Pebbles

Fruity Pebbles Cereal

Fruity Pebbles Cereal

Unfortunately, the nostalgic and colorful pebble-shaped cereal that you love is full of color additives and other ingredients that are not vegan-friendly.

Although it is kosher and gluten-free, it is overall unhealthy.

Ingredients

  • Rice
  • Sugar
  • Hydrogenated vegetable oil (Coconut, Palm Kernel Oils).
  • Salt
  • It contains less than 0.5% natural and artificial flavors
  • Red 40
  • Yellow 6
  • Turmeric Oleoresin is (color)
  • Blue 1
  • Yellow 5
  • Blue 2
  • BHA (flavor protector)
  • Vitamins and Minerals (Sodium Ascorbate – Vitamin C Source)
  • Ascorbic Acid (Vitamin C).
  • Niacinamide
  • Reduced iron
  • Zinc Oxide (Source Zinc)
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin A Palmitate
  • Riboflavin (Vitamin B2)
  • Thiamin Mononitrate, Vitamin B1
  • Folic Acid
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin D3

Nutritional facts (per 0.75 cup/27g).

  • Calories 110
  • Calories from fat: 10.
  • Total Fat: 1g, 2 % DV
  • Saturated Fat:.1g, 5% DV
  • Trans Fat: 0g
  • Cholesterol: 0 mg, 0% DV
  • Sodium: 140mg, 6 % DV
  • Potassium: 20mg, 1%
  • Total Carb. Total Carb.
  • Dietary Fiber: 1.7g – 6% DV
  • Sugars: 9g
  • Other Carbohydrates: 14g
  • Protein: 1g, 2% DV

Marshmallows With Fruity Pebbles

Marshmallows With Fruity Pebbles

While marshmallows may have been fun to chew on as a kid, they are not vegan-friendly.

This product, along with the other ingredients that are not vegan-friendly, should be avoided if there are dietary restrictions that prohibit you from eating dairy or animal products.

Ingredients

  • Rice
  • Sugar
  • Marshmallows (Sugar and modified cornstarch, corn syrup; gelatin, artificial flavor, sodium hexametaphosphate; yellow 5, blue 1, red40, yellow 6).
  • Corn Syrup
  • Canola Oil
  • Salt
  • It contains less than 1% natural and artificial flavors
  • Red 40
  • Yellow 6
  • Turmeric Oleoresin is (color)
  • Blue 1
  • Yellow 5
  • Blue 2
  • BHT (flavor protector)
  • Vitamins and Minerals (Sodium Ascorbate – Vitamin C Source)
  • Ascorbic Acid (Vitamin C).
  • Niacinamide
  • Reduced iron
  • Zinc Oxide (Source Zinc)
  • Vitamin B3
  • Vitamin A Palmitate
  • Reduced iron
  • Riboflavin (Vitamin B2)
  • Thiamin Mononitrate, Vitamin B1
  • Folic Acid
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin D3

Nutritional facts (per 0.75 cup/27g).

  • Calories 110
  • Calories from fat: 14.5
  • Total Fat: 0.5g, 1 % DV
  • Saturated Fat: 0g DV
  • Trans Fat: 0g
  • Cholesterol: 0 mg, 0% DV
  • Sodium: 160 mg, 7% DV
  • Potassium: 15mg, 0%
  • Total Carb. Total Carb.
  • Dietary Fiber: 0g – 0% DV
  • Sugars: 13g
  • Protein: 1g, 2% DV

Fruity Pebbles Treats

Fruity Pebbles Treats

Fruity Pebbles Treats bars can be a quick snack for the road, but they are packed with sugary flavor and calories.

Vegans should not bother.

This treat includes gelatin, whey powder, non-fat dried, and whole milk solids.

Ingredients

  • Rice
  • Fructose Sugar
  • Corn Syrup
  • Hydrogenated vegetable oil (Coconut and Palm Kernel Oils).
  • Dextrose,
  • Gelatine (not vegan).
  • Salt
  • Glycerin
  • Whey Powder (not vegan)
  • Soy Lecithin
  • Non-fat Dry and Whole Milk Solids (not vegan)
  • It contains less than 1% natural and artificial flavors
  • Red 40
  • Yellow 6
  • Turmeric Oleoresin is (color)
  • Blue 1
  • Yellow 5
  • Blue 2
  • Pyridoxine Hydrochloride (Vitamin B6)
  • Mononitrate (Vitamin B1)
  • Riboflavin (Vitamin B2)
  • Vitamin A Palmitate
  • Folic Acid
  • Vitamin D3
  • Vitamin B12
  • Niacinamide (Vitamin B3)
  • Reduced iron
  • Zinc Oxide

Nutritional Facts (per 1 Bar/22g)

  • Calories 90
  • Total Fat: 2g, 3 % DV
  • Saturated Fat 1.5g, 8% DV
  • Trans Fat: 0g
  • Cholesterol: 0 mg, 0% DV
  • Sodium: 80mg, 33% DV
  • Potassium: 15mg, 0%
  • Total Carb. Total Carb.
  • Dietary Fiber: 0g 0% DV
  • Sugars, 9g Added Sugars, 16% of DV
  • Protein: 1g

Summary: Cocoa Pebbles And Fruity Pebbles Are Not Vegan

Cocoa Pebbles And Fruity Pebbles Are Not Vegan

Vegans should not eat Cocoa Pebbles or Fruity Pebbles.

Unfortunately, they contain vitamin D3, which, as with many other kinds of cereal, is a form of vitamin D3 derived from lanolin (a property taken from sheep’s wool).

They also contain sugar, artificial colors, palm oil, and other suspect ingredients associated with animal cruelty.

Latest Posts

Don't Miss

Stay in touch

To be updated with all the latest news, offers and special announcements.